Strange Looking Red Snapper

IMG_3061As predicted, the weather was a bit overcast and drizzly. Human dad got his fill of fishing, human mom got to take me to the island, and since there are no geocaches in this anchorage we were done here and headed back to Prideaux Haven to see what the fleet has been up to.

Mom had some issues trying to get her photos off the iPhone onto her laptop because all of a sudden the laptop wouldn’t list her iPhone as a device. She had been using iTunes to copy her music and thinks she set something that required all transfers including photos to use it, but since she couldn’t seem to get iTunes to copy her photos to her laptop, she ended up removing it from her laptop and then her phone was accessible again using the USB cable. I’m glad she figured it out because I was feeling a little lazy this morning.

IMG_3073

Red Snapper (Creepy)

IMG_3076Back at the raft-up in Prideaux Haven that afternoon, one of the other humans had caught a Red Snapper. Boy is it ever strange looking and what the heck is that sticking out of his mouth…it’s tongue? No apparently that’s it’s stomach which happens when they rise to the surface of the water too fast from deep water, and the gases that are in the fishes blood, tissues or in their swim bladder expand faster than they can naturally be released and therefore forces the internal organs out of their bodies. Creepy. I shore hope it tastes better than it looks but I may never know because it’s not our fish even though human dad gets to fillet it. I’m not big on eating raw fish as much anymore and prefer it cooked, but I still enjoy watching him play with the fish.

=^,,^=

7 thoughts on “Strange Looking Red Snapper

  1. Great to see you again Purrsea. I didn’t know we could get Red Snapper in the lower mainland. Surprise! To tell you the truth, Purrsea, I don’t care for fish. Mom and dad do but not me. They have never tried Red Snapper though. The picture you have of its stomach coming out its mouth doesn’t exactly make them long for one either. MOL

    (((Shoko)))

    Liked by 1 person

    • Great to hear from you again too Shoko! I’m sure if we saw the way a lot of our meat food is processed, it would be hard to stomach. The creepy link is to a WordPress photo challenge and I saw one there that’s making me rethink chicken now….mol.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Creepy : The Daily Post’s weekly photo challenge - Sylvain LANDRY

Leave a comment