I Would Rather Be At Sea

IMG_3791Perched in my big picture window,
I blankly sit and stare,
Looking over my neighbourhood,
That naught I really care.

For I’d rather be at sea.

Neighbours walk past and point at me,
Like they do every day,
“Look at that cat in the window,
He seems so sad” they say.

Because I’d rather be at sea.

They know not where my heart belongs,
It’s not here on this street,
It’s harboured on the horizon,
Where souls and vessels meet.

Yes I’d rather be at sea.

Was that the cry of gulls I heard?
No, that was just a crow,
His caw gets in my craw I sigh,
He’s such a tease you know.

Yes I’d rather be at sea.

Was that the crash of waves I heard?
No, that was just a car,
Driving past my distant wake,
Washing my dreams afar.

Yes I’d rather be at sea.

Wonder were those days of sailing,
Over the open seas,
Now all I do is long for them,
O take me back there please.

O I’d rather be at sea.

When the window sits blank and stares,
And crows fly silently,
I doubt I’ll miss this neighbourhood,
For then I’ll be at sea.

For then I’ll be at sea.

=^,,^=

Where would you rather be?


Poetry 101 Day 7: What do you think about when you think about your neighborhood? Whether it’s your block, a favorite store or coffeeshop, or just a general sense of community (or lack thereof), keep today’s poem local, within the radius of a leisurely stroll from your home. Form: ballad:  at a glance Ballads are dramatic, emotionally-charged poems that tell a story, often about bigger-than-life characters and situations. They can be long, short, rhymed, or unrhymed — though it’s still common for ballads to have a refrain. Device: assonance: Similar to alliteration, assonance is the strategic repetition of vowels in close proximity to each other.

Seven Wonders

24 thoughts on “I Would Rather Be At Sea

  1. We’ve never been to sea, but your pain is palpable in your ballad, and we feel so badly for you. Hope you’ll be back in the water soon. XOCK, Lily Olivia, Mauricio, Misty May, Giulietta, Fiona, Astrid, Lisbeth and Calista Jo

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Poor Purrsea, you will again one day be at that place you would rather be. That lovely place called the sea. You are the most talented cat I read from. PurrrRRRrrrs. I hope you get to return soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. We’d like to be at sea to get our new sailboat from Port Moody to Powell River, but since it’s an O’Day 20-foot day sailer we are waiting by our window for the perfect three (or so) days to make the trip. So in the meantime we are here and it is there, will the twain ever meet? – Margy

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

